Broken Vows

brokenband

Broken Vows

I see the anger reflected in your face,

undefined as our love was at one time

when everything we did appeared fine

before the love and care was replaced.

~

Was it love what for years we carried?

Everything we understood was unclear

and when silence took hold it did appear

we drifted apart as we stayed married.

~

One day my living turned to desperation,

I felt trapped and lost without the notion

that anger replaced your lost emotions

and everything else became frustration.

~

When did we lose what it was promised?

We never thought that our lives would end

with picking out pieces and time misspent

in making out words without being honest.

~

Walking away I did with much hesitation,

freedom always comes with a price to pay

and all the years together I cannot erase

as I drift more apart in our separation.

~

Now it’s time to unbind a broken vow,

to separate lives that never meant to be,

never meant to tie what was given free

but messed up in the process somehow.

~

Maybe one day I’ll regard you dearly

when I see a smile I remember clearly,

maybe one day when we are far away

I’ll remember why I could never stay.

 H.O.

6 thoughts on “Broken Vows

  1. Your site is back not sure what happened. This is a powerful, gut-wrenching, agonizing poem. Your writing is so elegant and there is a wisdom underneath as well wow very impressed with your work

  2. graceh13 says:

    Ouch! So sad. Now I see it clearly and I feel you there man but I like the last verse. It moves me.

Leave a Reply

