A Father (re-posted for Father’s Day)

For the one that holds me in place and motivates my thirst for life, my only true love, my daughter.

Father - 2010 Pedro Solorzano

A Father

When autumn comes and life goes on

my daughter dear, another year

time gives to you and takes from me,

another candle is there now blown

with wishes still not fully clear

and love not found to be so free,

but you keep smiling as life goes on.

~

And what I want on father’s day

for you my dear so close to stay,

to hold you tight and not let go

protecting you from all the harm,

from all the tears and all the pain-

But what I wish I wish in vain

as you my love adventures want

and just this life you now outgrow

so holding tight, I’ll let you go.

H.O. June 11, 2013

2 thoughts on “A Father (re-posted for Father’s Day)

  1. Hector says:

    Thank you Skye 🙂

  2. Skye says:

    Beautifully penned words from a beautiful heart. Have a wonderful Father’s Day, Dear Hector. ~Skye

Leave a Reply

