Death Knocks Once

tumblr_mas0at6qbu1rp1ha1o1_500

Death Knocks Once

~

Dry oak fingers taping tunes on roof tiles

late night winds howling songs of past times

in a daze spooky dreams turned to rhymes

caught between being awake and asleep

if I die pray my soul god to keep

~

Don’t come calling until sins reconcile

fears play under shadows of death

when she takes life away in one breath

no one there to bemoan or to weep

if I die pray my soul god to keep

~

And in dreams every moment conspires

to make fears come alive in my bed

while in slumber I’m already dead

one loud knock to arouse me from sleep

if I die pray my soul god to keep

H.O

Pale death, with impartial step, knocks at the hut of the poor and the towers of kings. -Horace
~~~
I woke up again in the middle of the night with a knock. It happens often and at first I would get up and check the doors but no one there. I stopped looking and simply go back to bed but that knock wakes me up every time.

7 thoughts on “Death Knocks Once

  1. Dana R says:

    Perhaps it is an angel knocking on your door. 😉

Leave a Reply

