Approaching Dusk

father-1004022_640

 

Approaching Dusk

~

I fear the approaching dusk

stretched to fill the empty holes

my life will pass like summer rain,

and won’t be here

to dry your tears and sooth your pain,

to hold you dear

until the memories subside-

And things I asked about my soul

eternal life reserved for all,

to cross the light,

I just don’t know-

I fear my dusk approaching fast

eternal night

as cold as winter fallen snow,

and only you to hold me here-

H.O

“When he died, I went about like a ragged crow telling strangers, “My father died, my father died.” My indiscretion embarrassed me, but I could not help it. Without my father on his Delhi rooftop, why was I here? Without him there, why should I go back? Without that ache between us, what was I made of?”

― Kiran Desai

3 thoughts on “Approaching Dusk

  1. Beautiful Hector. Love the sentiment, your words make me think of a lot of things, thank you. If only those that we love could hold us here just a little bit longer, would we be able to ever let go? I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend, enjoy your evening. ~ Mia xx

    • Hector says:

      Thank you Mia ♥ it is nice to see your little avatar popping up on my phone 🙂 Sometimes I fear dying before my daughter is all set into her life and the thought of her pain scares me. I believe she does hold me here for a little longer ♥

Leave a Reply

